Rankings and Distinctions

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) ranks the IU School of Nursing number 31 among universities who receive funding from the NIH.

We are the first school in the nation to be designated an NLN Center of Excellence in Nursing Education in two categories—

Creating Environments that Promote
the Pedagogical Expertise of Faculty
Creating Environments that Advance
the Science of Nursing Education

US News & World Report 2016 Graduate School Rankings for 2016:

  • DNP ranks #1 in the state of Indiana and in the top 20 of public universities nationwide
  • MSN programs rank #1 in the state of Indiana and in the top 20 of public universities nationwide

Almost 40% of the baccalaureate-prepared professional nurses in Indiana graduate from the IU School of Nursing each year.

Many of our faculty are distinguished with fellowships in national nursing organizations:

  • Twenty-three Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing

    Group of women smiling

    From left, Mary Beth Riner, Sue Rawl, Janet Carpenter, Joan Haase, Pam Ironside, Robin Newhouse, Claire Draucker, Vicky Champion, Susan Pressler, Diane Von An, and Janet Welch. The complete list is below.

    Joan Austin
    Margaret Applegate
    Jan Beckstrand
    Diane Billings
    Janet S. Carpenter
    Victoria L. Champion
    Claire Burke Draucker
    Patricia Ebright
    Doris Froebe
    Janet Fulton
    Joan Haase
    Judith A.Halstead
    Pamela Ironside
    Brenda Lyon
    Rose Mays
    Joanne Martin
    Angela McBride
    Robin Newhouse
    Susan Pressler
    Susan Rawl
    Mary Beth Riner
    Phyllis Stern
    Lillian Stokes
    Janet Welch
    Lucia Wocial

  • Ten Fellows of the National League for Nursing

    Diane Billings (Honorary Fellow)
    Donna Boland
    Jan Fulton
    Judith A. Halstead
    Angela McBride (Honorary Fellow)
    Janet Phillips
    Deanna Reising
    Sharon Sims
    Melinda Swenson
    Lillian Stokes (Honorary Fellow)

  • Three Fellows of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

    Susan J. Moore
    Sharon Simms
    Melinda Swenson

Our T32 Training in Behavioral Health Research program has been funded for over 20 consecutive years.

Many of our faculty are editors of national publications:

  • Janet Fulton is the editor of Clinical Nurse Specialist - The International Journal for Advanced Nursing Practice
  • Sheri Robb is the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Music Therapy
  • Kristina Dreifuerst is the associate editor for Clinical Simulation in Nursing
  • Joyce Pittman is the deputy editor of the Journal of Wound Ostomy & Continence Nursing

Indiana University School of Nursing

IU School of Nursing - education

IU School of Nursing - community service