Indianapolis, Indiana,  IUPUI campus, fountain and skyline

IUSON: A Legacy of Leadership

Celebrating 100 Years of Nursing (1914-2014)

Since our doors opened in 1914, the IU School of Nursing has been a catalyst for change in education, practice, and research. That spirit of innovation lives on in our students and 30,000 living alumni across the globe.

Points of Pride

  • Woman standing next to flag and smiling

    This past spring, clinical assistant professor and director for the RN-BSN Completion Option, Janet Phillips attended the National League for Nursing’s (NLN) Board of Governors “Day on the Hill” in Washington, DC. While in DC, Dr. Phillips and her fellow NLN board members visited their Congressional members to discuss NLN public policy priorities and solicit support for nursing workforce development funding.

  • Two women smiling

    Professor Angela McNelis and adjunct assistant professor Lucia Wocial have been competitively selected for Fellowship into the American Academy of Nursing. They will be inducted during the 2015 Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference to be held October 15-17, 2015 in Washington, DC. Drs. McNelis and Wocial will be two of sixteen current faculty members who are Fellows of the Academy.

  • Woman smilinng

    Robin Newhouse a University of Maryland School of Nursing faculty member known nationally for her research of innovative methods to improve the quality of care delivered to patients, has been named dean of IU School of Nursing, effective July 1. Dr. Newhouse is a leading expert in evidence-based practice for direct care nurses and implementation research. IU School of Nursing warmly welcomes her to our School!

  • Woman smiling

    IUSON PhD student Erin Wyatt was recently selected for an American Cancer Society (ACS) Doctoral Degree Scholarship in Cancer Nursing. The approved budget is $30,000 over a two-year period: July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2017. Erin is eligible to apply for another two years of funding after the first award. The funds for this and other training grants from The American Cancer Society come from public contributions to the ACS.

  • Man smiling at camera

    IUSON PhD student Mitchell Knisely has been competitively selected to attend the National Institute of Nursing Research Summer Genetics Institute. The intensive program will take place at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, MD from June 1-26, 2015. The Summer Genetics Institute is designed to provide attendees with foundational knowledge of molecular genetics to prepare them for their future careers in research, practice, and teaching.

  • Group of women

    On April 13, IUSON held an Undergraduate Nursing Honors Rapid-Fire Research Event, during which students had ten minute intervals to pose (“fire”) questions to faculty about their research. Faculty also posed (“fired”) questions to the students. The event was designed by IUSON Honors Coordinator, Dr. Sheri Robb to create a meaningful, rapid exchange of information between the honors students and research faculty. Participating faculty included Drs. Crowder, Ellis, Hickman, Haase, Lasiter, and Oruche.

Upcoming Events

There are no events at this time.