Indianapolis, Indiana,  IUPUI campus

IUSON: A Legacy of Leadership

Celebrating 100 Years of Nursing (1914-2014)

Since our doors opened in 1914, the IU School of Nursing has been a catalyst for change in education, practice, and research. That spirit of innovation lives on in our students and 30,000 living alumni across the globe.

Points of Pride

  • Dr. Sheri Robb and Amanda Henley

    Sheri Robb (left) and Amanda Henley (right) were recently featured on American Music Therapy Association's (AMTA) podcast series called AMTA-Pro podcast. Robb and Henley share some unexpected findings from the Music Play pilot study. Read more »

  • Dean Robin Newhouse

    Congratulations to Dean Robin Newhouse, recently named distinguished professor. This is the highest academic rank the university bestows upon faculty. Newhouse is one of nine newly appointed distinguished professors. She will speak at the Distinguished Professor Symposium on April 17th at Hine Hall on the IUPUI campus. This symposium formally recognizes the honored professors.

  • Amy Wonder, Judy Young, and Rebecca Ellis

    IUSON Faculty Awards Committee is proud to announce the 2017 Trustees Teaching Award recipients: Amy Wonder, PhD, RN, Judy Young RN, DNP, RN, CNE, and Rebecca Ellis, PhD, RN. Congratulations!

  • Undergraduate students a the Indianapolis Museum of Art

    Second degree students enrolled in the BSN program went to the Indianapolis Museum of Art for their B334 Transitions in Care of Families and Communities course. Using a teaching method called Visual Thinking Strategies, these students are able to increase their observational skills and improve communication skills while discussing works of art. Meg Moorman, their teacher, has focused her scholarship around Visual Thinking Strategies in undergraduate and graduate education.

  • Dean Robin Newhouse and Novell Graves

    IUSON faculty and staff heard remarks from Dean Robin Newhouse and Novell Graves at the kick-off event for the 2017 IUPUI Campus Campaign. Through this tradition of philanthropic giving, IUPUI continues to grow, offering students a transformative education on a thriving campus. Read more »

  • Dr. Claire Darucker

    Congratulations to Dr. Claire Draucker. Draucker was named a 2017 Prestigious External Award Recognition (PEAR) recipient by the IUPUI Office of Academic Affairs. PEAR awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge faculty who have been recognized by a national or international professional organization for their academic achievements. She received the Living Legend Award, International Society of Psychiatric Nursing in 2016

Upcoming Events

See more events »


See more news »