IU School of Nursing Dean Robin Newhouse receives ANCC President's Award

The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) presented its prestigious ANCC President's Award to Robin Newhouse, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, dean of Indiana University School of Nursing, in tribute to her invaluable contributions to the nursing profession.

"An exceptional leader, Newhouse is a recognized expert in evidence-based nursing practice and a powerful role model for the nursing profession," stated Michael L. Evans, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN, president of ANCC. "She exemplifies nursing excellence, and I am pleased to honor her with the 2015 President's Award."

Nationally known for her research of innovative methods to improve the quality of care delivered to patients, Newhouse is the principal investigator of two funded studies that test nursing interventions to improve patient outcomes in acute care hospitals. In 2014, Newhouse was inducted into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame, one of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing's International Awards for Nursing Excellence. She serves as committee chair for the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute, and a former University of Maryland School of Nursing faculty member.

She received an associate degree from Anne Arundel Community College in 1976, a bachelor of science in nursing from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, in 1987, a master of government administration from the University of Maryland University College, a master's degree from the University of Maryland, Baltimore, in 1999, and a PhD from the University of Maryland, Baltimore, in 2000.

About the ANCC President's Award
The President's Award recognizes exceptional leaders who have partnered with the ANCC president to advance the mission, vision, and strategic goals of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Honorees are personally selected by the president rather than by a committee, and the award is given only when the recognition is warranted. Past recipients include those who have enhanced nurse professionalism and helped make ANCC the premier credentialing organization it is today.

About ANCC
The mission of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association (ANA), is to promote excellence in nursing and health care globally through credentialing programs. ANCC's internationally renowned credentialing programs certify and recognize individual nurses in specialty practice areas. ANCC recognizes health care organizations that promote nursing excellence and quality patient outcomes while providing safe, positive work environments. In addition, ANCC accredits healthcare organizations that provide and approve continuing nursing education. ANCC is the only nurse credentialing organization to successfully achieve ISO 9001:2008 certification in the design, development, and delivery of global credentialing services for nurses and healthcare organizations.

About IU School of Nursing
The Indiana University School of Nursing is one of the largest nursing schools in the nation with programs ranging from undergraduate to doctoral. Ranked 8th among public schools and colleges of nursing for National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding, the school boasts a robust program of research focused on quality of life in chronic illness, nursing education, and behavioral oncology. A full 40% of Indiana’s nurses are IU School of Nursing alumni. Programs range from three undergraduate options, eight tracks in the master’s program, post-master’s options, a PhD in nursing science, a DNP, and continuing education opportunities. U.S. News & World Report ranked the graduate programs 19th in its 2015 Best Graduate School rankings.