Time period: January thru May 2015

  • Lisa Carter-Harris –Oncology Nursing Society Foundation grant funded. “Lung Cancer Screening: Model Testing and Understanding Shared Decision-Making”, $20,000. She also was awarded $35,000 from the Cancer Research Network Scholars Program to fund “Prevalence of Lung Cancer Screening in High-Risk Smokers”. Lisa’s SBM Abstract, “Lung Cancer Screening: What Do High-Risk Smokers Know and Believe?” has been chose for the Health Decision-Making SIG Trainee Award for 2015
  • Stacey Crane (Mentor: Joan Haase) received a continuation for her Doctoral Scholarship with the American Cancer Society ($30,000).
  • Barb Friesth, PhD, RN received $14,500 from the IUPUI Center for Teaching and Learning for her study titled “School of Nursing Informal Study Areas”. She also received funding in the amount of $4,000 from Elsevier’s Education business Unit for the “Development Partner Program” to assist with adapting courseware that is designed to deliver personalized learning pathways for students.
  • Rebecca Guilkey was competitively selected to receive the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing Research Grant for her dissertation proposal titled, “The trajectory of adult post-craniotomy brain tumor pain over the postoperative period.” She will receive a $5,000 award.
  • Pamela Ironside has been award a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation grant in the amount of $159,982 for the purpose of developing the national Nursing Education Research Network. 
  • Julie Meek recently signed another year extending her contract with Teledoc. The total funds awarded for 2015 are $259,302 which brings the total amount funded since 2011 to $815,568.
  • Joyce Pittman’s proposal, “Unavoidable Hospital-acquired Pressure Ulcers” was selected to receive a 2015 AACN Impact Research Grant in the amount of $47,750.
  • Sue Rawl announced the IUSON has been awarded a Robert Wood Johnson Future of Nursing Scholars grant to support 2 PhD student for full-time study…total awarded $150,000.
  • Deanna Reising was a recipient of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing/Center for Disease Control Small Grant for $5,000.
  • Rhonda Schwindt was competitively selected as a Mack Fellow from the Faculty Colloquium on Teaching Excellence at IUPUI. She will receive $1,000 in initial research funds and $1,000 after completing her project and submitting a paper to a scholarly journal.
  • Erin Wyatt (Mentor: Sue Rawl) received a Doctoral Scholarship from the American Cancer Society ($30,000).
  • Noah Zanville has been awarded a $5,000 MNRS/CANS Dissertation Grant for his submission entitled, “Early Detection of Taxane-Induced Neuropathy.”

Something missing? Please email us at and let us know. Thank you!