Cover of 2018-2019 annual reportWelcome! ¡Bienvenido(a)!

As dean of the Indiana University School of Nursing, let me be the first to welcome you. With a tradition dating back to 1914, it is our honor to prepare students for careers as expert clinicians, innovators, scientists, and leaders. 

The Indiana University School of Nursing is composed of campuses in Indianapolis (IUPUI), Bloomington, and Fort Wayne.  We share a curriculum and a governance structure. Our organizational chart explains the reporting structure. Dean Robin Newhouse is the dean for all three campuses and works with an executive team to provide oversight for all three campus locations. 

Our 2018-2019 Annual Report provides information about all three campus locations.

We offer four degrees in undergraduate and graduate studies that include three options in the bachelor's degree; nine options in the master's degree; a PhD and a DNP (doctor of nursing practice).  Many of the programs offer distance accessible options - which means you can study where you are with limted or no need to come to campus, depending on the program. All students will have experiential learning opportunities with clinical partners throughout Central Indiana. We are fortunate to have over 200 partners that work with us in each of our programs. 

We are grateful for the generosity of our alumni and donors that allow us to administer more than $700,000 in graduate fellowships and undergraduate scholarships annually. Students also have the opportunity to study abroad at universities with whom we have formed strategic international partnerships, like John F. Kennedy Medical Center and the University of Liberia in Liberia; Sun Yat Sen University in China; and Kaohsiung Medical University and National Defense Medical College in Taiwan.US News & World Report best grad schools 2020 doctor of nursing practice degree

US News & World Report best grad schools 2020 master's degreeIU School of Nursing's Master's and DNP programs were named to the U.S. News & World Report Best Graduate Nursing Schools 2020. IU is the only program in Indiana to have a nationally ranked nursing specialty - Nursing Administration (Nursing Leadership in Health Systems) - which was ranked 12th.

We were honored to be the first school in the nation to be designated by NLN badgethe National League for Nursing as a Center of Excellence in Nursing Education in two categories - Advancing the Science of Nursing Education (2016-2021) and Promoting the Pedagogical Expertise of Faculty (2017-2022).

Our world-renowned faculty are dedicated to ensuring students' success through innovative teaching practices and curricula. Several are distinguished fellows in national nursing organizations including American Academy of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame, National League for Nursing, and American Academy of Nurse Practitioners.We were honored to be the first school in the nation to be designated by the National League for Nursing as a Center of Excellence in Nursing Education in two categories - Advancing the Science of Nursing Education (2016-2021) and Promoting the Pedagogical Expertise of Faculty (2017-2022).

  • Three Members of the National Academy of Medicine

    Joan K. Austin
    Angela Barron McBride
    Robin P. Newhouse

  • Fifty-Nine Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing

    Representative group of FAAN Fellows from the IU School of Nursing

    From left, Mary Beth Riner, Susan Rawl, Janet S. Carpenter, Joan Haase, Pam Ironside, Robin Newhouse, Claire Burke Draucker, Victoria L. Champion, Susan Pressler, Diane Von An, and Janet Welch.

    Complete List of Fellows

    Current and emerita faculty:
    Joan K. Austin
    Margaret Applegate
    Janis Beckstrand
    Diane Billings
    Marion Broome
    Janice Buelow
    Janet S. Carpenter
    Victoria L. Champion
    Chris Coleman
    Claire Burke Draucker
    Joanne Duffy
    Patricia Ebright
    Janet Fulton
    Joan Haase
    Eileen Hacker
    Brenda Lyon
    Rose Mays
    Joanne Martin
    Angela Barron McBride
    Wendy Miller
    Robin P. Newhouse
    Ukamaka Oruche
    Joyce Pittman
    Susan Pressler
    Susan Rawl
    Mary Beth Riner
    Carol Shieh
    Lillian Stokes
    Diane VonAh
    Janet Welch

    IU School of Nursing affiliates:
    Hattie M. Bassent
    Marjorie M. Beyers
    JoAnn Brooks
    Jeanette G. Chamberlain
    Linda Chase
    Brenda Lewis Cleary
    Judith A. Halstead
    Kimberly Harper
    Catherine Ivory
    Pamela Jeffries
    Dorothy A. Jones
    Carole Ann Kenner
    Jane Marie Kirschling
    Karren Ellen Kowalski
    M. Cynthia Logsdon
    Sally Lechlitner Lusk
    Anna McDaniel
    Usha Menon
    Linda Moneyham
    F. Patrick Robinson
    Kathleen J. Sawin
    Margaret Scisney-Matlock
    Nancy Sharts-Hopko
    Maria R. Shirey
    Lorraine O. Walker
    Susan Noble Walker
    Nell Watts
    Diana J. Weaver
    Lucia Wocial
    Gail L. Wolf

  • Six Members of Sigma Theta Tau International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

    Marion E. Broome
    Janet S. Carpenter
    VictoriaL. Champion
    Claire Burke Draucker
    Joan Haase
    Robin Newhouse

  • Ten Fellows of the National League for Nursing

    Diane Billings (Honorary Fellow)
    Donna Boland
    Janet Fulton
    Judith A. Halstead
    Angela Barron McBride (Honorary Fellow)
    Janet Phillips Nice
    Deanna Reising
    Sharon Sims
    Melinda Swenson
    Lillian Stokes (Honorary Fellow)

  • Three Fellows of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

    Susan J. Moore
    Sharon Sims
    Melinda Swenson

  • Nine Indiana Women of Achievement Award Recipients

    Susan Pressler, 2019
    Janet S. Carpenter, 2017
    Diane Billings, 2015
    Pam Jeffries, 2014
    Anna McDaniel, 2012
    Victoria Champion, 2009
    Joan Austin, 2007
    Connie Weaver, 2006
    Angela Barron McBride, 2005

 Many of our facutly conduct research to study a wide variety of healthcare issues, including quality of life in chronic illness; nursing education; palliative and end-of-life communication, and cancer control. The National Institues of Health (NIH) have ranked us 17th overall and 10th among public universities for 2019. In 2017, the Indiana University Champion Center for Cancer Control Research was established to support cancer research that decreases the burden of cancer for patients and families. 

I am proud to represent an institution that makes profound and meaningful contributions to the nursing profession. Along with the entire faculty and staff, I invite you to discover how we have been empowering leaders for more than 100 years. Join the legacy today!

Dean Robin Newhouse, PhD, RN


Indiana University School of Nursing

Faculty and students share insights about the IU School of Nursing

IU School of Nursing - Education

Learn what makes the IU School of Nursing educational environment great

IU School of Nursing - Community Service

The School shares the ways we give back to the community in which we live and work