Administrative Structure

Executive Team

Administrative faculty and staff are dedicated to maintaining and enhancing the School's reputation as one of the top institutions of its kind. With a commitment to attracting prestigious and talented scholars, instructors, administrators, researchers, and staff, we continue to build the School's reputation by helping our students manifest their potential and supporting our researchers in their life-changing discoveries.

The administrative body exists to support the school in our mission to promote health and research that improves lives. Members of the school administration are directly responsible for creating and maintaining our many international cooperative agreements; honoring our distinguished alumni, faculty, staff, and students; supporting and promoting scientific research; and maintaining our reputation as one of the top nursing schools in the world. 

Robin P. Newhouse, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Dean
newhouse@iu.edu

Janice Buelow, PhD, RN
Associate Dean for Academic Operations
jbuelow@iupui.edu

Janet S. Carpenter, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Dean for Research and Scholarship
carpentj@iu.edu

Barbara Manz Friesth, PhD, RN
Assistant Dean for Learning Resources and President of Faculty Affairs
bfriesth@iu.edu

Janet Fulton, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN
Associate Dean for Graduate Programs
jasfulto@iu.edu

Linda Griffin, MBA, CPA
Assistant Dean for Resource Management
lgriffin@iu.edu

Eileen Hacker, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAANP
Chair, Department of Science of Nursing Care
edhacker@iu.edu

Susan Hendricks, EdD, MSN, RN
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs
shendric@iu.edu

Desiree Hensel, PhD, RN, PCNS-BC, CNE
Interim Associate Dean, IU Bloomington School of Nursing
dehensel@indiana.edu

Mary Beth Riner, PhD
Associate Dean for Global Affairs
mriner@iu.edu

Diane Von Ah, PhD, RN, FAAN
Chair, Department of Community and Health Systems
dvonah@iu.edu